A big change

A few weeks ago I received some great coffee from my brother, who had just returned from Seattle. For the past two weeks, I’ve been enjoying that high-quality coffee in the morning. Yesterday I ran out. There wasn’t enough time to run to the store to get some good coffee this morning before Stephanie left for her cycling class, so I had to improvise.

We has some pre-ground Dunkin Donuts coffee in the house (don’t ask why), so I decided to use that. It’s not too bad.

There is a huge difference in the coffee I had yesterday and the coffee I’m enjoying this morning. Then the thought hit me, “have I ruined myself by drinking a lot of high-quality coffee?” It’s harder for me to enjoy restaurant coffee these days because I’m used to great beans at home.

What do you think? Do you opt for standard Joe so you can continue to enjoy coffee anywhere or do you stick with the good stuff and enjoy the finest there is?

One thought on “A big change

  1. I definitely go premium, although I drink canned, pre-ground at work. It’s almost as if I have two settings for coffee: utility and savory. When I drink coffee for utilitarian purposes (like during a 3rd shift) it’s more about keeping me up and keeping me warm than it is the taste…I don’t even really pay too much attention. But when I am savoring coffee…rich, oily beans, freshly ground and pressed in boiling hot water. It’s all or nothing.

    I hope one day soon we can savor some great coffee together…miss you my friend!

    PS- La Vida Nada is Adios!

Leave a Reply

