Print out your Reading Plan

In the past I’ve talked about Bible Reading Plans. These are really helpful ways to read through the Bible through the year. There are all sorts of plans that give you all sorts of options. But the most important part is that you are reading the Bible.

The generous people at Crossway have made many different reading plans available for free on their website (http://www.esv.org/). My personal favorite is the M’Cheyne One-Year Reading Plan. It guides you through the Old Testament once and the New Testament and Psalms/Proverbs twice in one year. It also helps balance difficult sections to go through (such as the laws in Leviticus) with other sections that aren’t so difficult to keep up with.

There are many ways to go through these plans. You can get them as a RSS feed, emailed to you daily, read it online, or even download it to your calendar. I’ve tried all of these solutions and they work fairly well. However, the most effective way I’ve found to go through a reading plan is to simply print out the plan. The Print option gives you a single page (double-sided) that has the entire year’s plan on it. I’ve printed this plan out and have it in a Bible at the office as well as in a Bible at home.

I’ve found this method to be the most beneficial because I don’t have to open up my computer or phone to get the passages I am going to read that day. When I do turn to my phone or computer, there are dozens of other things begging for my attention that easily distract me. And if they don’t pull my attention away from reading the Bible right away, they sit in the back of my mind and nag me to finish reading quickly so I can move on to do the things that need to be done today.

By having just my Bible and a single sheet that lets me know where to read today, I find that I am able to really concentrate on my reading and really interact with the scripture.

What are some other ways that help you read through the Bible?

One thought on “Print out your Reading Plan

Leave a Reply

