A Great Commission Resurgence

I usually don’t blog about church life things. However, today I’ve been attending the Southern Baptist Convention held in Louisville, KY.

There are benefits and costs to being a Southern Baptist. The SBC is sometimes related to the awkward family member that shows up at family reunions. They’re family and you love them, but sometimes they act in ways that embarrass. Today, I am proud to be a Southern Baptist.

I’ve watched a business meeting that started at 8 AM and is scheduled to end at 9:15 PM tonight. Then it goes on tomorrow. But what I am most excited about is the passing of a resolution that will add greater accountability and effectiveness to the SBC for our future. It’s called the Great Commission Resurgence. You can read it here.

There were some that opposed the resolution, but it passed with amazing unity. That makes me happy.

I may not like to spend the rest of my life living with this awkward relative of the SBC, but they’re family and I love them for that. And yes, we can do more together than we could apart.

2 thoughts on “A Great Commission Resurgence

  1. Your blog is a GOOD place to write about church life things! I am glad to hear your enthusiasm and hope you gain even MORE insight from attending the SBConference. Then, share those questions and concerns. As church staff, your opinions matter to many people and are reflected in your leadership, responses and future influence. Be passionate!

    • Thanks for the encouragement. I will write more after tomorrow’s meeting. I may even venture to bring my computer with me and get some more thoughts in the heat of the action.

Leave a Reply

