A whole new bench.

 

Two years ago my parents bought us a bench for our front porch. It has provided us with a place to sit and enjoy many evenings. And as you can see from this picture, it really finishes off the front porch.

 

The only problem with a wooden bench is the wood ages outside. So, I got to do the manly thing and refinish it as a weekend project. It isn’t the first piece of furniture I have refinished. When I first moved into this house, I was able to refinish a hall tree I inherited. 

For this project, I started on Friday by completely dismantling the bench in the garage. I separated the pieces out and got it all ready for refinishing. 

Saturday, Stephanie went to opening day at Churchill Downs and I headed to Lowes. I got the things I needed and spent the rest of the day with my bench.

After sanding it all down, cleaning it off, and prepping the work space, I got started. I chose a ceader stain and waterproof combo. the change is subtle, but I am really happy with the results. I also was able to work on the iron sides and inlay. Those got a new coat of paint as well.

Here are some before and after pictures. I know they’ll be hard to tell a difference. So to really see the difference, you can come sit on the bench. I’ll even throw a cup of coffee in to sweeten the deal.

 

Before

Before

After

After

 

 

Before

Before

After

After

 

 

Before

Before

 

After

After

3 thoughts on “A whole new bench.

  1. NICE JOB!!!and the wonderful satisfaction of completing a renovation yourself. What’s next around the house? and by the way, did Steph pick a winning horse?

Leave a Reply

