Experience matters

I think the majority of people who go to Starbucks these days don’t go because it’s the best coffee they can find. The majority go because of the experience. Starbucks has created an experience that people pursue. They feel that their white cup with a green logo will actually enrich their day. There are other coffee shops with fresh roasted coffee and manual espresso machines that will yield a finer hand-crafted beverage than the Starbucks latte. But that doesn’t matter.

No, I’m not saying Starbucks is bad. That is actually the opposite of what I’m saying. They have created a coffee experience that people are prone to prefer rather than the highest quality available.

And that’s why I’m at starbucks while I write this. I came today for the experience. It’s a great third place to meet a friend for conversation. And, I like the experience.

2 thoughts on “Experience matters

Leave a Reply

