Do What You Love To Do

I’ve learned recently that I have to spend time wisely. Part of this is learning what I am good at, what I can do, and what I can’t do. There are certain things that would be fun to do but would be a waste of my time because I am not tallented or gifted in those areas. For example, I should not attempt to pursue these careers:

  • Jockey
  • Track Athlete
  • Professional Baseball Player
  • Astronaut

There are other professions that take skill and practice as well as some natural gifting. Because I don’t enjoy these things and I am not passionate about them, I should pursue these careers either:

  • Professional Artist
  • Snake Handler
  • Gator Wrangler
  • Bass Fisherman

However, I do need to acknowledge my skills and focus my time there.

That’s how I decided I wanted to be a church administrator. I grew up with a very specialized training from a mom who put color coded threads in the toe of my socks to tell them apart form my siblings. She had masking tape labels on everything. All of the towels were folded the same way. My dad also has a folder on his computer for everything! There isn’t a single file on his computer that you can get to without going through at least 43 folders that narrow down the content of that file. For example, things that are purely recreational, like family photos, are in a folder tree that looks like this: C->Recreation->Creativity->Canon->Pictures->Family. They are also future broken down by family member, then event. For example, you could probably find this kind of folder tree on there: Family -> Daniel -> Daniel & Stephanie -> Birthday -> 2007 -> Cakes -> singing -> action shots -> blowing out candles -> smoke -> lighting effects. It’s truly amazing.

I picked up on the extreme organization and methodology that my parents used in our everyday life. I’ve also connected that with my love for people. The result is a passion for organizing people. I’ve used this to move toward systems designed to help people connect  and be shepherded by other people who have things in common with them. The more people, the more complicated the system, but that is what I am passionate about. I know, probably sounds a little weird.

The only problem is I don’t get to spend the majority of my time working with those systems. Right now I work for a church plant, which means I do MANY other things during the week. This week I did everything from stuff envelopes to purchase books for the staff’s training. 

But focus is the key. I focus on the systems. I spend time thinking about them as I am driving to and from work. I ask all sorts of questions in my head while I work out or go for a run. And I am always looking for another way to get people to connect and grow and then find out how to make it easier for that to happen. 

When I am in the store purchasing coffee cream and cups for the church, I am able to take that time to step away from the distraction of my computer and task list and think about the people that I get to work with and wonder how I can better serve them through connecting them to others for genuine community. 

I get to do what I love to do. And I have acknowledged what I am not good at doing. It seems like that list grows bigger every day…

2 thoughts on “Do What You Love To Do

  1. Wisdom from this post! It was a wise person who said,”Figure out what makes you happy…and then find a way to get paid for doing it!” That is what you’ve done, and I applaude you. I am gratified to read that the organization of your childhood home has, in some way, been of benefit to you. I am an unsung worker bee, and it is so sweet to see that every now and then, I may have done someting right. I feel as tho I’m missing the target a lot here lately….but we march on. Today was a wonderful inauguration! May God bless America in this new leadership era. I love you.

  2. I laughed out loud about the color in the socks. It was def. an integral part of our childhood, and it worked! But you forgot to mention that our bath towels were also color coded. Dave-Blue, Em- yellow, Dan-green, Tim- red.
    I think that I have Mom to thank for teaching me how to organize. And I have my beloved family to thank for giving me so much practice in organizing, reorganizing, and putting-it-back-in-its-place-again. I would like to take this moment to apologize to my mom for all the times I foiled her attempts at keeping a clean house.

Leave a Reply

